Tohoku Testimony, Retreat from Anime, and Descending into Hell

Kathleen Kern, who works for a Christian peacekeeping organization, writes about her absorption with anime and how it developed into a novel.

David Gilman-Frederick shares the wonderful story of an elderly Japanese man’s transformation in the months following the Tohoku earthquake.

Canne talks about her spiritual retreat from the busyness of the world, including media like anime.

Ghostlightning discusses how the plots of Infinite Ryvius and School Days can be seen as descents into hell.

AniManga Confessions, a Tumblr blog that takes confessions and places them against graphical representations, posted one particularly about Christian representations in anime.

And finally, I didn’t mention it last week as I should have, but Justin of Organization Anti Social Geniuses was so kind as to interview me as part of his Thursday’s Lab Report series.

About TWWK

TWWK, known to outlaws and lawmen alike as Charles, lives deep in the heart of Texas, where he drives cattle and boot scoots (not really - though he does sport a pair of rattlesnake boots). Somehow in this frontier, he also finds time for his wife, children, and church. Oh, and anime, too.

Posted on 09.09.2011, in Anime, Buddhism, Christianity, interview and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. Hey, thanks for posting a link to my blog in this company!

  2. Nice mix of articles. I like it! AniManga Confessions caught my eye in particular.

  3. Just stumbled upon here so did not know you were a Christian. God Bless!

  4. Huh. I wonder who this Justin guy is?

  5. I clean forgot about “Infinite Ryvius,” which I had started years ago and finished up last year. I’m always a nut for space stuff after all, so I had to watch the rest. I skimmed Ghostlightning’s interesting analysis and will have to go back and read it again. “Infinite Ryvius” is an interesting show, but not an easy one to watch.

    And speaking of writing, if I don’t get on that KnC essay and quick, I’m likely to get scooped! :o

    • It really sounds like an interesting series, particularly with both you and ghostlightning recommending it.

      Ah, yes, KnC (I like that abbreviation). I’m eager to read that essay, though I’m worried it’ll make me want to rewatch that series, when I’m already behind on my viewing list!

      • Well, when I admitted I’d “clean forgot about Infinite Ryvius,” I guess I gave the game away in terms of it not being especially transformational. :) Disturbing yet intriguing is what I remember. The comparison to “Lord of the Flies” is irresistible because it is so apt. I recall the ending being reasonably satisfying at least. Plus I do love me some space operas. :D

        “Kin’iro no Corda” is another thing entirely. You once said to me that it leaves fond memories behind somehow, and I have to agree. I’ll be arguing that it is no masterpiece, but does make one important point, awkwardly but repeatedly. And you have to give it props for not going completely off the rails, which would have been easy to do. *coughutapricough*

        KnC essay #1 on its way today most likely. ;)

Leave a Reply

