The 10th Day of Christmas Anime: Shugo Chara!

Today is the 23rd, which means Christmas is in two days!!! This post is about episode 12 of the classic anime Shugo Chara! The episode is entitled, “A Sad Christmas Eve!”

When I think of Christmas, I think of a holiday of enjoying the company of those whom I love, but this ideal concept isn’t always the case. I grew up as a military brat, so my dad missed a lot of birthdays and Christmases. Because of this I learned early on that it is rather hard to have celebrations like Christmas when you feel alone.

Screencap from GrimCONvenience
Screencap from GrimCONvenience

Similarly, in this episode of Shugo Chara! we witness what is like to be with people you love on Christmas Eve and also what it is like to be alone. One one side we see Hinamori Amu as she spends Christmas Eve with the Guardians and really enjoys her time. On the other hand, we see Tsukiyomi Ikuto as he is alone and hurts other people. The saying fits, “Hurt people, hurt people.”

Interestingly enough, I can relate to both characters. Years ago, I was able to enjoy the holidays like Hinamori Amu, but the cares and weight of life made it harder and harder for me. I found that people were constantly rejecting me, but then I learned something, I was believing a lie. People weren’t pushing me away, I was shutting them out to try and protect my heart. Life wasn’t crushing me, I was taking on things I never had the right to carry.

Over these past few years, I have been learning to enjoy life again, by sharing it with others. I have been learning to live life again, and I can honestly say that I am super excited for Christmas for the first time in a long time. I get the opportunity to pour into those I love and care about and be poured into at the same time. Christmas is about giving and receiving, we have to do learn to do both to in order to experience the fullness of it.

zeroe4

One thought on “The 10th Day of Christmas Anime: Shugo Chara!

Leave a Reply